USMTS Modifieds Set To Invade “The Creek”

USMTS Modifieds Set To Invade “The Creek”

Spring Valley, MN – By: Todd Narveson: The Memorial Day holiday weekend is fast approaching and that means one thing. The stars and cars of the United States Modified Touring Series will invade Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday, May 28 for their annual swing through southern Minnesota. It will be stop number six on the Northern Region and part of the Casey’s Cup tour powered by S&S Fishing & Rental.

It will be the 14th Annual Southern Minnesota Spring Challenge presented by A&A Electric & Underground of Kasson, Minnesota. The race will pay $3000 to win for the Modified and a chance to pose with the big check in victory lane. In the 13-previous shows, nine different drivers have tamed the high banks at “The Creek”.

Brad Waits of Rochester, Minnesota is the two-time defending champion of the event with wins in 2015 & 2014. Brandon Davis of Medford, Minnesota took the title in 2013 & 2012. Tim Donlinger of Rochester, Minnesota and Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Iowa are the only other two time winners. Darin Walker, Dan Chapman, Ryan Ruter, Jason Hughes and Ryan Gustin have also topped the Spring Challenge.

Joining the Modifieds on the card will be the always entertaining Holley USRA Iron Stock Cars. This division is one of the most exciting on dirt with their door-handle-to-door-handle thrill a second style. Tom Schmitt of Independence, Iowa is the two-time defending champion as he won in 2015 and 2014. Mitch Hovden of Decorah, Iowa won in 2013 while Jake Masters of Graettinger, Iowa won in 2012. Kevin Donlan of Decorah, Iowa won in 2011 the first time the Stock Cars were involved in the Spring Challenge.

Also on the program will be the Out-Pace USRA Ironman B-Mods. This will feature a big field of cars in another very competitive class. Cory Crapser of Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin is also the two-time defending winner from 2015 & 2014. Shaun Walski of Winona, Minnesota won in 2013 and Scott Demmer of Ellendale, Minnesota won the race in 2012.

If that is not enough for you, the WISSOTA Polydome Dirt Track Series Street Stocks will also battle it out for supremacy that evening. The Street Stocks always seem to provide great racing on a weekly basis at the speedway and look for a strong car count and close racing for this show.

Come to the speedway early if you like and see some of the stars of tomorrow perform. The Slingshots will be racing on the 1/5-mile Button Buck Speedway at 3:00 p.m. that afternoon. Since that program started in 2008, 25-youngsters have graduated to the big tracks in the area. Some of those include current Modified drivers Lucas Schott, Dustin Sorensen and Jake Timm.

Pit gates will open on 2:00 p.m. on race day with the front gates opening up at 3:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 5:30 p.m. and the first green flag flies at 6:00 p.m. Keep an eye on for further updates. Also “Like” our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter @DeerCreekSpeed (#TheCreek) or view some previous season’s action on our YouTube channel.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *