Scott Triumphs In Opener, Youngsters Shining Bright

Scott Triumphs In Opener, Youngsters Shining Bright

SPRING VALLEY, MN – April 18, 2015:  (Photo courtesy of Gulbranson Photo)  With the winds coming out of the east and blowing into the grandstands we were all thankful for a warmer day of racing as the 20th anniversary of Deer Creek Speedway kicked off in spectacular fashion.


The first feature event of the night was the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. Bradley Seavers jumped out from at the start with Tammy Soma Clark in second. Justin Froemming showed his speed early on and moved into second on lap two with Dustin Scott following into third. Scott worked past Froemming on lap five to take over the second spot. With seven cycles completed Froemming and Dan Wheeler were side by side for the third spot until a caution flew. On the restart Josh Crary joined the battle for third as Scott moved into the lead on lap eight.  Crary sat behind Froemming in third while Wheeler dropped back to fourth. Scott kept strong out front as Crary and Wheeler battled for the third spot over the remaining laps. At the finish it was Scott with the first win of the 2015 racing season. Froemming, Wheeler, Crary and Seavers rounded out the top five. Wheeler, Crary and Scott won the earlier heat races.


The WISSOTA Street Stocks were up next for their feature event with Nicholas Schwebach jumping into the early lead followed closely by Troy Voth. Mike 20150418-D3S_8379Blowers ran in third and started to challenge Voth for second and on lap two the two made contact exiting the turn with Voth ending up with a flat and bringing out the caution. On the restart Schwebach stayed up front with Blowers in second. Danny Hanson and Kory Adams battled for third with Danny Richards behind them. Hanson took the spot again with Richards now moving past Adams and working on Hanson. Richards would take over the third spot on lap nine leaving Hanson and Adams to race for fourth. At the finish it was Schwebach all alone up front with Blowers, Richards, Adams and Hanson rounding out the top five.


A huge field of 39 USRA B-Modifieds showed up to battle for the top prize. Shaun Walski jumped out front and looked very strong early on. Parker Hale and Kylie Kath had the battle early on for second as they raced side by side for the first three laps until a caution flew. On the restart Kath took control of second while Walski ran alone up front. With six laps completed Kath found a fast line and quickly closed up on Walski up front. Outside the top five all eyes were on Cory Crapser, Cole Queensland and Jerry Young as the three weaved their way through the field trying working into the top ten. With ten down Walski and Kath were side by side for the lead with Kath taking control of the race on la20150418-D3S_8517p 11. A final restart bunched the field back up on lap fourteen. Kath jumped back out front and ran unchallenged to the checkers. At the line it was Kath, Walski, Hale, Andrew Bleess and Matt Jones in the top five. Heat races were won by Alex Williamson, Jason Schlangen, John VanMinsel, Walski and Derek Clement


The WISSOTA Super Stocks saw Jeff Brauer take the pole position and use it to his advantage jumping out front early on. Tommy Richards was in second and Neil Eckhart in third. With two down Brian Fetting got moving and worked past Eckhart for the third spot. Richards had a strong car and moved past Brauer to take over the lead. Richards would pull away slowly from Brauer until lap fourteen when Richards suddenly slowed 20150418-D3S_8606bringing out the caution. Brauer would retake the lead and held onto it to the checkers. Aj Hoff worked Fetting on lap fifteen to take over the second spot. At the finish it was Brauer with the win, Hoff, Fetting, Kevin Hager and Dave Solum rounded out the top five. Brauer took home the checkers in the only heat race of the night.


Rain stopped the racing action on lap two of the USRA Modified feature. The makeup feature will be ran next week. Heat races for the modifieds were won by jake Timm, Jacob Bleess, and Jason Cummins.


USRA B-Modifieds

Feature – Kylie Kath, Shaun Walski, Parker Hale, Andrew Bleess, Matt Jones, Alex Williamson, Cory Crapser, Jerry Young, Cole Queensland, Jason Schlangen, Scott Demmer, Daniel Christopher, Cole Denner, Ben Moudry, Brandon Hare, Chad Roseendahl, Trevor Fecht, Kadden Kath, David Pitz, Dustin Kruse, Miah Christenson, Scott Kunda, Erik Kanz, Derek Clement, John VanMinsel

B-Feature 1 – Moudry, Queensland, Roseendahl, Kruse, Pitz, Kenny Boge Jr., Jayden Larson, Tammy Soma Clark, Rick Byrnes, Brian Efkamp, Dan Hovden, Nick Wagner

B-Feature 2 – Hare, Kanz, Denner, Ka. Kath, Christopher, Taylor Ausrud, Christian Warner, Tanner Johnston, AJ Johnston, JR Wasmund, Mike Chisholm, Cole Lanergan

Heat 1 – Williamson, Demmer, Jones, Moudry, Christopher, Boge JR., T. Johnston, AJ Johnston

Heat 2 – Schlangen, Hale, Young, Kanz, Hovden, Denner, Roseendahl, Soma Clark

Heat 3 – VanMinsel, Bleess, Christenson, Efkamp, Ka. Kath, Pitz, Wasmund, Ausrud

Heat 4 – Walski, Fecht, Kunda, Warner, Byrnes, Chisholm, Larson, Lanergan

Heat 5 – Clement, Ky. Kath, Crapser, Queensland, Hare, Kruse, Wagner


WISSOTA Street Stocks

Feature – Nicholas Schwebach, Mike Blowers, Danny Richards, Kory Adams, Danny Hanson, Durand Peterson, Troy Voth, Noah Grinstead, Bernie Adams, Jordan Becker, Brent Holland, Fred Prudoehl

Heat 1 – B. Adams, Prudoehl, Hanson, Richards, Grinstead, Becker, Peterson

Heat 2 – K. Adams, Blowers, Voth, Schwebach, Hewitt JR., Holland


WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Feature – Dustin Scott, Justin Froemming, Dan Wheeler, Josh Crary, Bradley Seavers, Robby Franklin, Casey Trom, Ryan Goergen, Jared Boumeester, Garritt Wytaske, Tammy Soma Clark, James Patzner, Ron Jablonske, Jake Stark, Josh Flury, Bonne Jablonske, Jason Born

Heat 1 – Wheeler, Froemming, Goergen, Franklin, Patzner, Boumeester

Heat 2 – Crary, Wytaske, Soma Clark, Trom, R. Jablonske, B. Jablonske

Heat 3 – Scott, Seavers, Flury, Born, Stark


WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature – Jeff Brauer, AJ Hoff, Brian Fetting, Kevin Hager, Dave Solum, Josh Bartel, Harlan Morehart, Tommy Richards, Neil Eckhart

Heat – Brauer, Hager, Richards, Eckhart, Hoff, Fetting, Bartel, Solum, Morehart


USRA Modifieds

Feature – Postponed due to rain

Heat 1 – Jake Timm, Jacob Dahle, Bob Timm, Dustin Sorensen, Alan Wagner, Greg Jensen, Joe Ludemann

Heat 2 – Jacob Bleess, Brandon Davis, Lucas Schott, Josh Ruby, josh Angst, Joe Horgdal, Doug Hillson

Heat 3 – Jason Cummins, Cory Crapser, Joel Alberts, Darwyn Karau, Zack VanderBeek, Mike Mehling, Greg Pfeifer Jr.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *