Motl, Brauer, and Jacobs Add Another Win To Their 2017 Season

Motl, Brauer, and Jacobs Add Another Win To Their 2017 Season

Shanna Motl: July 15, 2017 Blake Trucking Slingshot races at Deer Creek Speedway had more fans than usual with Tasseldega Nights and free gate admission to the track.  The young slingshot drivers on the Button Buck were ready to show off their talent for everyone in the stands.  The Pee Wee feature race had the 78J of Tucker Jacobs on pole with the 7C of Curtis Parmenter on the outside.  These two young drivers have been battling it out all season and today was no different.  The 7C of Parmenter was hoping to get the 78J of Jacobs on the start, but Jacobs was ready for him and got a jump on the 7C.  Jacobs continued to extend his lead on Parmenter in the 10 lap feature race, and added another 1st place trophy to his 2017 season. 

The Junior feature had the 43 of Koby Wagner on pole alongside the K34 of Kolton Brauer on the outside.  The 43 of Wagner got a good jump on the start, but the K34 of Brauer was just as anxious this week and got around Wagner in turn 2.  Wagner did his best to catch the K34, but Brauer seemed to be on auto pilot as he pulled away to a commanding lead to the finish ahead of Wagner taking home another 1st place trophy for his 2017 season.

The Senior feature had the 20 of Gage Motl on pole with the 28jr of Devin Born on the outside.  Inside 2nd row was the 77 of Hunter Kennedy with the 24 of Joe Chisholm on the outside.  Inside 3rd row was the 29 of Lily Reps.  Motl started the race strong and pulled out in front of the pack.  The 77 of Kennedy got around the 28jr of Born to fall in to 2nd place.  The 29 of Reps was challenging the 25 of Chisholm for 4th place when Chisholm and Born tangled in turn 2 bringing out the first caution.  Motl continued to stay out in front on the restart while a 3-way battle continued between Born, Reps, and Chisholm.  The 77 of Kennedy was still in 2nd as Motl stretched out his lead.  Reps took a chance on the inside of Born only to find herself caught up and spun around bringing out the final caution.  With a single file restart and 6 laps to go, Motl hung onto his lead to take home his second 1st place trophy of the 2017 season, followed by the 77 of Kennedy, the 28jr of Born, the 25 of Chisholm, and the 29 of Reps. 

Heat race winners included the 78J of Jacobs in the Pee Wee class, the 43 of Wagner and the K34 of Brauer in the Junior class, and the 77 of Kennedy in the Senior class. 

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *