Drivers Honored at Annual Awards Banquet

Drivers Honored at Annual Awards Banquet

SPRING VALLEY, MN –  Nov. 17, 2012 –  (Photo Courtsey of Gulbranson Photo) – The final event on the calendar for the 2012 racing season at Deer Creek Speedway and Button Buck Speedway are in the books. The annual banquet was held at the Eagles Club in Rochester who provided a great location and space for the banquet and catered a wonderful meal for all to enjoy.

After the meal the award presentations started with videos of the season highlights put together for each class as the top drivers in each class came to the stage for their awards.

The Truck Country Slingshots were up on stage first to receive their trophies. In the pewee division Easton Wasmund received the most improved award and won the track championship for the division. Keegan Einck took home the championship trophy and most improved for the junior division after taking home five wins in the season and narrowly edged out Jim Chisholm for the title. Derek Clement took home both honors for the senior division also with five wins on the season. Derek Clement also won the Sportsman of the year award for the Slingshots while Elaine Sorensen took home the Parent of the Year trophy for the slingshots.

The Cap N Cork WISSOTA Street Stocks were on stage next with Shaun Mann taking home the most improved driver in the division. Mike Blowers took home his first track championship at the speedway with four wins. Blowers also won the best appearing car award given out by Buck Monson Photography.

Jacob Bleess took home the title for the Hinz Trucking USRA B-Modifieds also becoming the youngest driver to win a title in Deer Creek Speedway history at the age of 15. Bleess took home three wins on his way to the track championship. Bleess also took home the most improved driver for the division and finished fourth in USRA National points.

Steve Paulson from Dirt Doctor Trucking took to the stage for the Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modified division as drivers received their awards. Cory Crapser took home the title with ten wins at the speedway. This was Crapser’s second title after winning the Street Stock title previously. Crapser was also recognized as the 2012 WISSOTA National Champion. Bill Stettner took home the most improved driver award for the class.

The Wagner Trucking WISSOTA Super Stocks took to the stage next with Al Wagner on hand to present trophies. Kevin Hager took home the most improved driver award for the division while Kelly Anderson took home his second straight track championship.

The Altenburg Construction WISSOTA Late Models were on stage next with Andy Altenburg on hand to present trophies to the drivers. Jerry Bloom took home the most improved driver award. Mike Prochnow won three features on his way to the 2012 track championship his third straight title at the speedway. This was the third time a driver had won three straight track titles.

Jason Zeliadt from NAPA AutoCare Group was on hand to present trophies to the drivers in the NAPA AutoCare USRA Modified division. Jake Timm took home the most improved honors while Brandon Davis took home the track championship with eight wins on the season. Davis was also crowned the USRA National Champion enroute to his third track championship of his career.

Other drivers receiving awards were Rookie of the Year Steve Amundson (Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds). Hard Luck Award went to Brandon Hare (NAPA AutoCare USRA Modifieds) and Sportsman of the Year went to Tyron Friese (Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds)

Photographer Scott Gulbranson took some incredible pictures throughout the season and was credited with the photos used for the banners and dirtheads of the winning drivers. Sandy Brinkman and Buck Monson were also on hand during the year and contributed photos used during the slideshows.

The Queensland Family thanked everyone for the 2012 racing season and noted after much discussion all 6 classes will return to the Deer Creek Speedway for the 2012 season; USRA modifieds and B-Modifieds and WISSOTA Late Models, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds and Street Stocks. The 2012 season saw great racing action and the fans filled the stands with more fans attending the races during the 2012 season than any other season in history at the track. In total there were 555 drivers who registered at the speedway during the season from 23 states, Canada and Australia

The tentative 2013 schedule for the speedway was released with March 30 being the annual Clements Car Show. Racing action will start on April 6 with specials throughout the year, the mainstays of the Gopher 50 in July, The Sprint Show in September and the season concluding with the Fall Jamboree. Other specials will include the Southern MN Spring Challenge on Memorial Weekend. The Firecracker on June 29. The World Modified Dirt Track Championships July 24-27 and the BP Labor Day Dual Presented by Baudoin Oil on Labor Day weekend.

We look forward to seeing everyone at the car show in March and then at the season opener April 6. Have a safe and happy off-season.

For more information visit us online at or follow us on Facebook, Twitter @DeerCreekSpeed (#DCSbanquet, #TheCreek) or on our YouTube Channel.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *