Deer Creek Speedway Honors Champions at Banquet

Deer Creek Speedway Honors Champions at Banquet

Spring Valley MN – November 17, 2013:  (Photos courtesy of Gulbranson Photo) The Annual Deer Creek Speedway ChampionsAwards Banquet was held November 16 at the Eagles Club in Rochester.  After a great meal the award presentations started with 330 people in attendance.

First u20131116-D4X_6160p where the Button Buck Speedway drivers.  In the Pee-Wee division Joe Chisholm took home his first track championship ahead of Braden Brauer, Ayden Howard, Jayden Larson and Easton Wasmund.  Chisholm took home the title with four class wins during the season and three heat race wins.  Ayden Howard picked up the most improved driver award in the Pee-Wee slingshots.

In the Junior Division Jim Chisholm took home the win by 15 points over Keagan Einck, AJ Hoff, Anthony Johnson and Evan Reyna.  Chisholm took  home the title with four feature wins and seven heat wins.  Makayla Wagner took home the most improved driver award in the junior slingshot division.20131116-D4X_6176

Jim Chisholm repeated his title manners by winning the Senior Division this season also with five feature wins and nine heat race wins.  The seasons winning ways put Jim Chisholm on top of all drivers with a total of 29 slingshot feature wins in his career.  Chisholm took home the title over Keagan Einck, Jackson Hale, AJ Hoff and Anthony Johnston.  AJ Hoff took home the most improved driver in the seniors.

Other awards handed out through the night for the slingshots were Jason Hoff who took home the A&A Electric House Car Challenge.  His time bested the efforts of al people who took a turn in the House Car over the season.

Karlie Wagner showed throughout the year what sportsmanship was all about and took home the Button Buck Speedway Sportsmanship of the year award.  Ryan Einck too home the Button Buck Parent Sportsmanship Award.20131116-D4X_6406

Next up were the Deer Creek Speedway Awards.  Mike Prochnow took home the Championship becoming the first driver in history to win four straight track championships.  Prochnow took home the title for the Altenburg Construction WISSOTA Late Models with three feature wins.  Six different drivers visited victory lane for the Late Models during the season.  Prochnow won the championship over Nate Beyenhof, Kyle Jumbeck, Justin Sass and Joe Ludemann.   Beyenhof was also selected as the most improved driver in the division for the 2013 season.

In the NAPA Auto Care Centers USRA Modifieds Jason Cum20131116-D4X_6301mins took home his fifth track title which is also the most titles awarded to any one driver.  Cummins only took home one win but had nine top five finishes in the ultracompetitive division in 2013.   Other highlights included Mike Sorensen winning his 50th career feature win at the speedway which is second all time in wins at the speedway.  Cummins took home the title beating out Brandon Davis, Mike Sorensen, Josh Angst and Steve Wetzstein.  Darwyn Karau took home the most improved driver of the year award in the division.

J20131116-D4X_6271eff Brauer finally got his track title in the Wagner Trucking WISSOTA Super Stock division by beating out Kelly Anderson, Tommy Richards, Kevin Hager and Brain Fetting for the 2013 title  Brauer led the way with five feature wins which moved him into third in all time super stock wins by a driver during their career.  Brauer now holds the fifth highest wins ever at the speedway through all the divisions he has raced in with 38 total wins.  Ryan Henderson was named the WISSOTA National Rookie of the year.  Brandon Duellman took home the 20131116-D4X_6256title of most improved driver in the division in 2013.

Jared Boumeester took home the title in the Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modified division for 2013 topping Jason Born, Casey Trom, Greg Pfeifer Jr., and Ron Jablonske.  Boumeester won twice at the speedway during the season and finished in the top five in eleven of twelve races on his way to his second track title.  Ron Jablonske took home the most improved driver for the division in 2013.

Mike Blowers repeated as track champion for the SixTwo Graphics WISSOTA Street Stocks topping 20131116-D4X_6213Danny Richards, Shaun Mann, Danny Hanson and Troy Voth.  Blowers took home four wins in 2013 and only finished out of the top three once.  Blowers also finished eighth in national points during the season.  Bernie Adams took home his first feature win during 2013 on his way to most improved driver in the division.

Jacob Bleess took home the top honors in the class with the most cars in 2013 with his title in the Left Lane Transport USRA B-Modifieds.  Bleess topped Cole Queensland, Erik Kanz, Ben Moudry and Brandon Hare on the way to his second straight track championship.  Bleess won with three times during the season.  Ben Moudry took home the most improved driver award.20131116-D4X_6230

Other awards presented during the night was Jerry Young winner of the hard luck award.  Dustin Sorensen winner of the Rookie of the Year award for all rookies at the speedway.  Jason Born took home top honors in the sportsmanship of the year award at the speedway in 2013.

A tentative schedule was announced for the 2014 season and will be up on the website shortly.  Ticket Sales for the 2014 season will start as soon as the final schedule is completed at the end of November or the beginning of December with Gift Certificates also available for great Christmas gifts.

A special thanks to Todd Narveson the announcer at the speedway who is also the tracks historian/statistician for all the great information throughout the season.  He has information on all wins, heat and features for all races at the speedway readily available at his fingertips each night and is always providing this information to the fans and drivers.

Also a special thanks to the seasonal, nightly and special event sponsors at Deer Creek Speedway.  They all help to make each night its own unique event at the Speedway throughout the year.

Thank you also to the businesses who provide some of the nicest contingency prizes presented at any awards banquet.  Each year the prizes seem to get better with plenty of them for every driver on hand to receive at least one prize if not more.

We look forward to seeing everyone at Deer Creek Speedway in 2014

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *