Champions Are Crowned

Champions Are Crowned

Deer Creek Speedway Drivers Award Banquet

By Bill Nelson-November 22, 2014-Spring Valley MN

The Eagles Club in Rochester again provided a perfect setting for the 2014 addition of the Annual Drivers Award Banquet.  A great meal was served while drawing and door prizes were handed out thanks to a great group of sponsors and businesses who gave away a ton of great contingency prizes.

After the meal was served a video highlight reel of the 2014 racing season was shown to the large crowd gathered on this special night.  Thanks to Scott Gulbranson who put together this great highlight reel of some on track action and the behind the scenes work.  Everyone enjoyed watching this great footage.20141122-D4X_8159

The first awards to be handed out were some Specialty awards for the Button Buck Speedway which features weekly racing in the Slingshot by Tobias cars.  In the Truck Country Pee-Wee Slingshots Tucker Williams brought home the most improved honor while Tianna Mithun took home the honor in the Junior Division.  JT Wasmund took home the most improved honor in the senior division.  Devin Born showed true sportsmanship over the Slingshot season taking home the Sportsmanship award for the 2014 season, while Cody Howard took home the Parent Sportsmanship award.

20141122-D4X_8326After a video highlight of the slingshot racing season the championship trophies were awarded.  Joe Chisholm of Osage IA took home the track title in the Truck Country Pee-Wee division ahead of Tucker Williams, Hunter Kennedy, Devin Born and Ayden Howard.

Braden Brauer of Eyota MN took home the Championship Trophy in the Truck Country Junior Slinghsots ahead of Tianna Mithun, Karlie Wagner, Evan Reyna and Easton Wasmund.  Jim Chisholm took home the Senior Slingshot title ahead of JT Wasmund, AJ Johnston and Jett Sorensen.

Next up were the Specialty Awards for the Deer Creek Speedway with Noah Grinstead taking home the most improved driver in the Six Two Graphics WISSOTA Street Stocks.  Mike Mehling took home he honor in the Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modified division.  In the Elma Performance and Fabricating USRA B-Modifieds Alex Williamson took home the most improved honors, while Gary Wiersgalla took home the title in the Wagner Trucking WISSOTA Super Stock Division.  Rounding out the Most Improved honors was Joel Alberts in the NAPA Auto Care USRA Modifieds.20141122-D4X_8208

Troy Voth took home he dubious honor of the Hard luck of the year award, while AJ Hoff took home the Rookie of the Year award over a highly competitive group of rookies who raced this season.  Jason Cummins continued to demonstrate what racing is all about taking home the Sportsman of the year award receiving the award for the second time.

Mitch Coulter and Dan Erickson were on hand from the Minnesota Corn Growers to award the 2014 Ethanol Cup and the Ethanol Appreciation awards.  15 Drivers ran Ethanol Blended fuels this year at the speedway and received a check or $230.77 just for running the fuel.  This program was funded by Poet Ethanol of Preston, Absolute Energy of Lyle and the Fillmore County Corn Growers.  Two lucky drivers received a bonus by having their names drawn and received $500.00 instead and that was Brian Fetting and Troy Voth.   Other drivers participating this year were Cole Queensland, Jeff Brauer, Erik Kanz, Noah Grinstead, Mike Mehling, Greg Jensen, Casey Trom, Scott Demmer, Dustin Sorensen, Charlie Steinberg, MIke Chisholm, Dave Miller and Mike Fitzpatrick.

20141122-D4X_8440The Minnesota Corn Growers then announced Jeff Brauer the champion of the 2014 Ethanol Cup which was a final 3 race program for all drivers who ran over 50% ethanol in their race cars.  Cole Queensland, Mike Blowers, Erik Kanz and Brian Fetting rounded out the top five in this years version of the Ethanol Cup.

After another fine video program for each class that races at the Speedway put together by Justin Queensland the top ten in each division were brought onto the stage to receive their point money and trophies for the top five.

Mike Blowers took home the track championship in the Six Two Graphics WISSOTA Street Stocks ahead of Nick Schwebach, Noah Grinstead, Kory Adams and Bernie Adams.

Jacob Bleess had a great season taking home two track titles.  He took home the honor in the Elma Performance and Fabricating USRA B-Modifieds ahead of Cole Queensland, Alex Williamson, Cory Crapser and Brandon Hare.

Bleess repeated his performance by taking home the title in the Dirt Doctor Trucking WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds ahead of Dustin Scott, Cory Crapser, Josh Crary and Jared Boumeester.

Jeff Brauer took home the 2014 Wagner Trucking WISSOTA Super Stock title by 1 point over Gary Wiersgalla, Kevin Hager, Dave Solum and Harlan Morehart

The Napa Auto Care USRA Modified champion for 2014 was Jason Cummins by 2 points over Lucas Scott.  Josh Angst, Joel Alberts and Keith Foss rounded out the top five.  Cummins also received a tool box from NAPA for his championship.

Deer Creek Speedway and Button Buck Speedway are now readying for the 2015 season.  The schedule of events are listed on the website and tickets for all events are on sale so get those holiday presents for your loved ones.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *