Spring Valley, MN (July 9, 2022) – In front of a record crowd at Deer Creek Speedway, Brandon Overton held off Chris Madden’s furious charge to win the NAPA Auto Parts Gopher 50 on Saturday night. Overton earned $50,000 for his victory in the co-sanctioned Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series/Lucas Oil MLRA Series and denied Madden an additional $25,000 bonus.

When Overton took the race lead on lap 23, he had to hold off both Madden and Tim McCreadie as both of those drivers were breathing down his neck when a caution flag came out with three laps to go. McCreadie and Mike Marlar also led laps during the race.

On the restart Overton held his line to score his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the year and first big payday of 2022, winning by 0.514 seconds over Madden. McCreadie with his third-place finish is now the new Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader with the series heading to I-70 Speedway in Missouri on Thursday night for the first time. Brandon Sheppard who entered the event as the series points leader finished 20th and now trails McCreadie by 50 points in the chase for the $150,000 to win national championship this year.

Both front row starters for the richest race ever at Deer Creek, Jonathan Davenport and Madden accepted the money challenge of a $25,000 bonus from Tralo Companies and Speedwerx they would give up their front starting positions and start 11th and 12th. If one of those two drivers would have won the race, they would have earned a $75,000 payday for winning the race.

Marlar finished in fourth with Ricky Weiss rounding out the top five finishers.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 14th time in his career Overton becomes the sixth different winner in six series races that have paid $30,000 or more to win in 2022. “I probably just got lucky there at the end. You have heard of the phrase ‘sittin’ duck’ that’s what I felt out there. I know Madden had come from a ways back. I tried to not slip the tires there on that last restart. He (Madden) has been awfully good. Like I said, what an unbelievable feeling to get us one at Deer Creek. I am as happy as I could be.”

With the win Overton now joins Chris Ferguson (Show-Me 100), Jonathan Davenport (Historic 100), Chris Madden (Mountain Moonshine Classic), Tim McCreadie (Firecracker 100), and Brandon Sheppard (Freedom 60) as crown-jewel cup winners in 2022.

Madden, who started 12th had a run-on Overton until the Stop Tech caution flew with three to go, did not regret his decision. “No, not at all we had the $75,000 won and we had a lapped car three laps down get into the right front of my car, without that we are celebrating in victory lane. We had the best car, and we came from 12th and put on a heck of show for these fans. Thanks to all of the fans for coming out and supporting us and thanks for putting up the extra money and giving us a shot at it. We came up one spot short. Congratulations to Brandon on the win.” Madden took home $20,000 for his runner-up finish.

McCreadie, the reigning series champion still had a shot for the win at the end of the race but rounded out the podium in third. “I try my hardest, but at that point once Chris got by me, he did such a good job. Knowing where he started, I was trying as hard as I could I just kind of had a catbird’s seat to see what those two were going to do at the end.” McCreadie earned $10,000 for his third-place run.

The winner’s Wells Motorsports-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Allstar Concrete, Crossfit Overton, Garnto Southern, Penske Racing Shocks, Convenient Lube, R.W. Powell Construction, Big Dog Stump and Tree, Clean Way Clearing and Grading, VP Fuels, Dirt Mafia, EZ-GO, and Angry Elephant Tattoos and Piercings.

Completing the top ten were Tyler Erb, Ricky Thornton Jr., Daulton Wilson, Jonathan Davenport, and Brent Larson.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary

NAPA Auto Parts Gopher 50
Saturday, July 9th, 2022
Deer Creek Speedway – Spring Valley, MN

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 2S-Stormy Scott[2]; 2. 25C-Shane Clanton[3]; 3. 19R-Ryan Gustin[1]; 4. 77-Jared Hawkins[4]; 5. 40B-Kyle Bronson[6]; 6. 18J-Chase Junghans[7]; 7. 49T-Jake Timm[8]; 8. 15V-Kolby Vandenbergh[9]; 9. 55C-Chad Mahder[12]; 10. 90-Lance Matthees[10]; 11. 22H-Daniel Hilsabeck[11]; 12. (DNS) 32S-Chris Simpson; 13. (DNS) 19-Dustin Sorensen

UNOH B-Main #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 58-Garrett Alberson[2]; 2. 25-Chad Simpson[1]; 3. 11-Spencer Hughes[3]; 4. 18D-Daulton Wilson[4]; 5. 97-Cade Dillard[5]; 6. 7X-Jesse Glenz[6]; 7. 0-Scott Bloomquist[7]; 8. 7-Ross Robinson[11]; 9. 76B-Blair Nothdurft[8]; 10. 10-Paul Parker[10]; 11. 29-Larry Grube[12]; 12. 78S-Steve Stultz[9]

NAPA Auto Parts Gopher 50 Feature Finish (75 Laps):
NAPA Auto Parts Gopher 50 Feature Finish

Race Statistics
Entrants: 41
Lap Leaders: Tim McCreadie (Laps 1-12); Brandon Overton (Lap 13); Tim McCreadie (Laps 14-16); Brandon Overton (Laps 17-20); Mike Marlar (Laps 21-22); Brandon Overton (Laps 23-75)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Brandon Overton
Arizona Sport Shirts Crown Jewel Cup Feature Winner: Brandon Overton
Brandon Ford TV Challenge Feature Winner: Brandon Overton
Margin of Victory: 0.514 seconds
Stop-Tech Cautions: Ryan Gustin (Lap 20); Jimmy Owens (Lap 54); Kolby Vandenbergh (Lap 72)
LOLMDS Series Provisionals: Daulton Wilson; Spencer Hughes
Fast Time Provisional: n/a
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Track Provisionals: n/a
MLRA Series Provisionals: Kolby Vandenbergh; Daniel Hilsabeck
MLRA Emergency Provisionals: Steve Stultz
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Brandon Overton, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie
Penske Shocks Top 5: Brandon Overton, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Ricky Weiss
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Daulton Wilson (Advanced 15 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Brandon Sheppard
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Brandon Overton (59 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Tyler Erb
O’Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Race: Daulton Wilson
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Tim McCreadie (Lap 5 – 14.914 seconds)
Feature Tough Break of the Race: Jimmy Owens
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Kent Fegter (Brandon Overton)
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Racing Engines
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Dirt Draft Fastest in Hot Laps: Cade Dillard (14.659 seconds)
Time of Race: 39 minutes 11 seconds

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *