Angst, Brauer, Wheeler, Hare & Blowers Conquer The Creek

Angst, Brauer, Wheeler, Hare & Blowers Conquer The Creek

Spring Valley, MN – May 7, 2016 – By: Todd Narveson:  After a week off due to cold and rain, it was a beautiful Mother’s Day weekend for racing at Deer Creek Speedway. This week’s program was presented by Johnston Auto Stores and AC Delco along with Wagner Trucking. Another outstanding field of 107-cars signed in for racing action on the high banks of “The Creek”.

The WISSOTA Polydome Dirt Track Series Midwest Modifieds got the main events kicked off with their 18-lap race. Polesitter Dan Wheeler made a 20160507-D4X_4941mockery of the field as he took the lead from the drop of the green flag and never looked back. Jared Boumeester worked his way from seventh and quickly passed Don Schaefer for second.

Opening night winner Robbie Franklin put on a show after some bad breaks early in the night. Franklin got to the track late and did not make the draw cutoff. He then spun by himself in the heat race which sent him to the pits. Franklin started 15th in the feature and used the extreme high side of the track to work his way forward.

Wheeler led the entire race which went without a yellow flag to secure the win. Boumeester would finish in second with Jason Born in third. Don Schaefer had a fine run in fourth while Franklin stormed to a fifth place finish at the checkered flag.

20160507-D4X_4961THE KIK Graphics & Printing WISSOTA Street Stocks had Brent Holland out front on lap one with Durand Peterson in pursuit. Peterson took the lead on lap two while Mike Blowers moved from ninth to third and then zipped past Zach Elward for second on lap three. Blowers quickly caught Peterson and used the low groove to steal the lead on lap six.

Blowers would survive a couple of caution flags and took his 22nd career win here. Peterson finished a strong second with Nick Schwebach in third. Danny Richards was the car to watch in this race when he raced from 13th to fourth and Troy Voth rounded out the top five.

Ben Moudry took the lead in the Dirt Doctor Trucking USRA B-Mod feature. Moudry shot past polesitter Dustin Kruse to st the early pace. Brandon Hare slipped past Kruse for second on lap two and tried to hang with Mourdry. At this point there would be several caution periods that would slow things down a bit and kept things tight up front.

After a lap eight yellow, Hare went to the extreme high side of the track just off the concrete wall and found an advantage to his liking. Hare rocketed to 20160507-D4X_4976the outside of Moudry and took the lead on lap nine. The car to watch was Blake Arndt who qualified through a b-main and started 22nd. Arndt worked hos way into the top five and then bolted to third on lap 12.

Hare was hooked up and led the remainder of the race for his first win in nearly three years at Deer Creek. Arndt has his best run ever when he finished second with a late race pass of Moudry. Derek Clement also had a good run for fourth and Kylie Kath finished in fifth.

Jeff Brauer had battled the new car gremlins so far in 2016. That all changed when he wheeled his Dirt Dueler car to the win in the Olympic Fire Protection Super Stocks. Schatney Sanders led the pack early with AJ Hoff and Brauer going at it for second. Brauer fought back Hoff and then challenged Sanders for the lead. Meanwhile Tommy Richards had come from seventh to take fourth.

20160507-D4X_4994Brauer snagged the lead on lap three and Richards got by Hoff for third. Brauer opened up a huge lead and by the time Richards got to second, Brauer was two seconds ahead. Brauer opened up the lead even more while he drove to his 48th career win at Deer Creek which ties him with Mark Teske for third all-time. Richards finished a distant second with Sanders in third. Jon Jensen and Dave Solum finished out the top five.

Joe Horgdal and Josh Angst drew row one for the 25-lap Napa Auto Care Centers USRA Modified feature. Angst would dart off the outside to take the lead on the 26-car field and open up a big advantage. Horgdal, Dustin Sorensen and Brandon Davis had a good race going for second. Davis got to second on lap eight while Jake Timm entered the top five. A caution on lap 12 would change things dramatically when the green came back out.

Angst charged into turn one with Davis behind him. Davis’ car broke something and he shot hard into the turn one wall and the caution quickly returned. Davis was uninjured but done for the night. Angst set sail and dominated the race to ger the win, The battle behind him was very good with Sorensen and Timm.20160507-D4X_5018

The young guns went back and forth the rest of the way. They exchanged the spot a couple of times with Sorensen getting the edge and Timm in third. Jason Cummins came from ninth to fourth and Alan Wagner had his best run in a modified on fifth.


Feature—Brandon Hare, Blake Arndt, Ben Moudry, Derek Clement, Kylie Kath, JT Wasmund, Cole Queensland, Alex Williamson, Shaun Walski, Dustin Kruse, Cole Denner, Kadden Kath, Miah Christensen, Bill Stettner, Nick Wagner, Scott Demmer, Jackson Hale, Kenny Boge Jr., Mike Mehling, Trevor Fecht, Jim Chisholm, David Pitz, Zach Brom, Taylor Ausrud

B-Main 1—Kadden Kath, Stettner, Wagner, Vrom, Cole lonergan, Russ Quinnell, Cole Christensen, Channing Warner, Brad Quirk

B-Main 2—Ausrud, Chisholm, Arndt, Demmer, Jayden Larson, Lyndon Johnson, Chris Bruns, Steve Quinnell, Phillip Dunbar

First Heat—Denner, Wasmund, Hale, Pitz, Wagner, Warner, R. Quinnell, C. Christensen, Johnson

Second Heat—Mehling, Kylie Kath, Fecht, M. Christensen, Arndt, Ausrud, Larson, Demmer, S. Quinnell

Third Heat—Walski, Moudry, Williamson, Boge Jr., Stettner, Kadden Kath, Brom, Lonergan

Fourth Heat—Hare, Kruse, Clement, Chisholm, Bruns, Dunbar, Quirk

USRA Modified

Feature—Josh Angst, Dustin Sorensen, Jake Timm, Jason Cummins, Alan Wagner, Lucas Schott, Joe Horgdal, Joel Alberts, Jacob Bleess, Jacob Dahle, Joe Ludemann, Brandon Aggen, Darwyn Karau, Greg Jensen, Levi Neilsen, Pat Graham, Nate Wasmund, Bill Clemens, Jim King, Cale Slawson, Dwaine Hanson, Chris Loberg, Tammy Soma-Clark, Owen Grube, Brandon Davis, Mick Glenn

First Heat—Schott, Sorensen, Davis, Alberts, Graham, Neilsen, Loberg

Second Heat—Timm, Horgdal, Ludemann, Karau, Aggen, King, Hanson

Third Heat—Angst, Wasmund, Dahle, Jensen, Soma-Clark, Glenn

Fourth Heat—Cummins, Bleess, Wagner, Grube, Clemens, Slawson

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Feature—Dan Wheeler, Jared Boumeester, Jason Born, Don Schaefer, Robbie Franklin, Garitt Wytaske, Michael Wytaske, Casey Trom, Ryan Wetzstein, Greg Jensen, Ryan Goergen, Jake Stark, Ron Jablonske, Bonnie Jablonske, Tammy Soma-Clark, Tianna Mithun, Tony Schill

First Heat—Boumeester, Goergen, G. Wytaskke, M Wytaske, R. Jablonske, Wetzstein, Stark, Mithun, Soma-Clark

Second Heat—Wheeler, Born, Schill, Schaefer, Trom, Jensen, B. Jablonske, Franklin

WISSOTA Street Stock

Feature—Mike Blowers, Durand Peterson, Nick Schwebach, Danny Richards, Troy Voth, Kyle King, Kory Adams, Bernie Adams, Ryan Jacobsen, Blake Adams, Noah Grinstead, Keith Weber, Brent Holland, Mike Chisholm, JR Jones, Tracey Beebe, Fred Prudoehl, Zach Elward, Logan Peterson

First Heat—Peterson, King, K. Adams, Chisholm, Richards, Prudoehl, Beebe

Second Heat—Blowers, Schwebach, Holland, Jones, Peterson, Weber

Third Heat—B. Adams, Elward, Voth, Jacobsen, B. Adams, Grinstead

WISSOTA Super Stock

Feature—Jeff Brauer, Tommy Richards, Schatney Sanders, Jon Jensen, Dave Solum, Kevin Hager, AJ Hoff, Harland Morehart, George Schrumpf, Neil Eckhart, Ryan Schauffler

First Heat—Hoff, Eckhart, Sanders, Schrumpf, Jensen, Schauffler

Second Heat—Richards, Brauer, Solum, Hager, Morehart

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *